Archive for the ‘Prizes & Awards’ Category

AWARDED: Winemaker of the Year Dan Swincer (right) with Brett McKinnon, managing director of Orlando Wines.

Waite graduate, Dan Swincer won the ‘2011 Wine Society Young Winemaker of the Year’.

This is now two years in a row that a graduates from the University of Adelaide has won.

To read further about Dan and his award to go Barossa & Light Herald’s article:  ‘Dan’s Barossa wine appreciation’ .


Read Full Post »

The 15th Australian Barley Technical Symposium (ABTS) was recently held in Adelaide 18-21 September. The conference was well attended with over 170 delegates and offered a valuable opportunity for delegates to hear the latest advances in barley genetics, genomics, plant physiology, quality and agronomy.

Two major awards and two poster prizes were presented to members of the SAFW and co-location partners.

Congratulations to Dr Suong Cu (The University of Adelaide) who was awarded the ABTS Inc Incentive Award ($5,500) for her presentation titled: ‘Characterisation of Genetic Variation for Alpha-amylase Alleles in Barley’.

The Paul Johnston Trust Award ($5,500) was given to Kenton Porker (SARDI) for his presentation titled ‘Agronomic (row space, seed depth, seed quality) and Environmental Factors Change Herbicide Safety of New Barley Varieties in the Mallee’.

Both awards are given to support international conference attendance and associated travel and to further career development.

Poster prizes were also awarded to Juanita Lauer-Smith (The University of Adelaide) and Dr Joanne Tilbrook (ACPFG). Juanita is currently undertaking Honours (Supervisors: Jason Eglinton, Sophie Roumeliotis, Suong Cu). Her poster was titled ‘Improving Barley Beta-glucanase in Malt and Brewing Quality’. Joanne presented a poster titled ‘Development of High Salinity Tolerant Barley’.

Read Full Post »

Wan Mohd Aizat (Supervisor: Dr Amanda Able) was awarded the Best Poster at the recent ‘Horticulture for the Future’ Conference – a joint conference of the Australasian Postharvest Horticulture Committee (APHC), the Australian Society for Horticultural Science (AuSHS) and the New Zealand Institute of Agriculture and Horticulture Science (NZIAHS).

His poster was entitled ‘ Understanding the Physiological Mechanisms of Ripening in Capsicum (Capsicum annum)’. Wan is co-supervised by Jason Able and James Stangoulis.

Read Full Post »

The Advisory Board of Agriculture (ABA) is calling for nominations for the Service to Primary Production Award.

Nominees need not be Bureau members and the award is not restricted to farmers.

Nominations are welcome for people from any area involved with primary production, including service industries, government, education and agro-politics.

Applications close Friday 12 August 2011. The award finalists will be invited to attend the Agricultural Bureau of SA’s AGM / Awards Night coined the “Spirit of Excellence” Award Night, to be held Monday 12 September 2011. The Spirit of Excellence Awards Night is supported by the ABA, Primary Industries and Resources SA, advisory company RSM Bird Cameron and the Stock Journal.

For more information and a nomination form please visit the ABA website.

Read Full Post »

Lois Harris Scholarship award

Richard Murdoch (Chair, Advisory Board of Agriculture; President, Agricultural Bureau of SA), Renee Farrow (Lois Harris Scholarship recipient) & Associate Professor Mike Keller (School of Agriculture, Food & Wine)

Renee Farrow currently studying 1st year Bachelor of Agricultural Science has been awarded the $2000 Lois Harris scholarship for academic excellence.

The Advisory Board of Agriculture (ABA)/Agricultural Bureau of South Australia announced on 23 June that Renee, who is from Coobowie on the Yorke Peninsula, is the 2011 recipient of the prestigious Lois Harris Scholarship. This scholarship is a $2000 bursary awarded to the year 12 graduate with the highest tertiary entrance score entering the University of Adelaide‘s Bachelor of Agricultural Science program. Please see the media release for more details.

The Lois Harris scholarship helps to support and encourage young people to pursue a career in agriculture. The scholarship, named in honour of the late Lois Harris, a former ABA member and will be presented at the Agricultural Bureau of SA’s AGM / Awards Night which will be held on Monday 12 September 2011

The ABA has now offered the Lois Harris scholarship for 12 years, highlighting their support for young people entering the agricultural sector. The ABA also offers a range of other scholarships and awards for young people including:

  • The ABA’s Peter Olsen Fellowship for Young Farmers provides an $8000 bursary for a young farmer to pursue further study, take a study tour or run a special project.
  • The Rural Youth Bursary provides a $5000 opportunity for young people in regional areas to pursue further study, undertake a study tour, or to develop a special project, which will ultimately benefit the rural community.

For more information please contact:

Richard Murdoch
Chair, Advisory Board of Agriculture
President, Agricultural Bureau of SA
Phone: 0419 842 419
Web: http://www.agbureau.com.au/awards

Read Full Post »

Australian Society of Soil Science, SA Branch – Jane Gillooly Memorial Award Presentation & Lecture

Please join us at next ASSSI event for the announcement of the recipients of the 2011 Jane Gillooly Memorial Award.
This will be followed by a presentation from last year’s recipient Callie Nickolai from the SA Murray-Darling Basin NRM Board on:
“Building an understanding of the Murray-Darling Basin – a wetland perspective”
The event will take place at 4 pm on Thursday the 7th of July in the Charles Hawker Conference Centre, Waite Campus.

Read Full Post »